

Zachary Taylor Parkway Commission

MINUTES

Quarterly Commission Meeting October 13, 2021

Present

Carlos Mayeux, Avoyelles Martin Macdiarmid, East Feliciana Pat Witty, Pointe Coupee Les Cantrell, Pointe Coupee Buck Vandersteen, Rapides Patty Alford, Washington J.R. Rouchon, East Feliciana Louis Hebert, Pointe Coupee A.P. Guillory, Rapides Jack Daughtry, Rapides Wilburt Carmouche, Avoyelles Ron Roe, Rapides Gen. Ron McGlothlin Melvin Harvey, West Feliciana David Johnson, Guest Craig Smith, Guest Senator Glen Womack, Guest Julie Fuselier, Management Team Maggie Miller, Management Team

Absent

A.J. Roy, Avoyelles Curtis Jelks, East Feliciana Ginger Champagne, Washington Stewart Hamilton, West Feliciana Randy DeCuir, Avoyelles Ronnie Jett, East Feliciana Russell Wilson, Rapides Ryan Seal, Washington

C.A. 'Buck' Vandersteen of Rapides Parish called the Quarterly Meeting of the Zachary Taylor Parkway Commission to order at 1:00 PM on October 13, 2021, in Long Leaf, LA.

Mr. Vandersteen called roll.

Mr. Vandersteen proposed the consideration of the August 11, 2021, Minutes to the board. Patrick Witty made a motion to approve the August 11, 2021, Minutes. Martin Macdiarmid seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Vandersteen administered the official swearing in oath of office of Patty Alford of Washington Parish and Les Cantrell of Pointe Coupee Parish to serve a two-year term on the Zachary Taylor Parkway Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Witty reviewed the treasurer's report. He reported the Commission's balance of \$629.55 and one expense item of \$124.00. Buck Vandersteen reported that he spoke with Rick Ward about funding a small amount to the commission. Mr. Witty explained what was done in the past to help the commission



obtain funding. He referred to small projects that were done along the parkway and lobbying in Washington. Senator Glen Womack reported that he will put a meeting together with Louie Bernard and Representative Mike Johnson. Mr. Witty made a motion to approve the September finances. Mr. Vandersteen seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Vandersteen reviewed the action item list located in the meeting packet. Mr. Witty mentioned that he has been working with the Tangipahoa Parish President, Robby Miller, on finding board members for Tangipahoa Parish.

Julie Fuselier reported that she is still working with Sharon Calcut on the deficiencies in the Military Byway in order to move forward.

Mr. Vandersteen presented the slate of officers for 2022 to the Commission: A.J. Roy, III, President, Mr. Vandersteen, Vice-President, Mr. Macdiarmid, Secretary, Mr. Witty, Treasurer. Martin Macdiarmid made a motion to re-elect the commission officers as presented. Carlos Mayeux seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Vandersteen announced the next meeting will be January 12, 2022, in Tangipahoa Parish at 10:00 AM.

Mr. Witty made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Mayeux seconded the motion. Mr. Vandersteen adjourned the meeting at 1:30 PM.